Holy Trinity Polish National Catholic Church 880 Barton Street East, Hamilton, ON L8L 3B7 905-549-0470

Seven Sacraments

The first Synod of the PNCC defined the purpose of the church as follows:

To sanctify people by introducing them to the living Christ;
To preach the pure Gospel of Jesus, interpreting it with sound knowledge;
To help mankind create a church which, in living practice, would meet the standards of Jesus Christ.

The PNCC recognizes seven sacraments.
The sacraments provide us God’s grace through items that are real and tangible. Washing with water; Strengthening through the anointing with oil and laying on of hands; Bread and wine – real food and drink are the physical things God uses to convey His grace.
The Sacraments are:

  1. Baptism and Confirmation
  2. The Word of God
  3. Penance
  4. Eucharist
  5. Holy Unction (Anointing for Health)
  6. Holy Orders
  7. Matrimony

The Word of God holds a special place within the PNCC
Anyone attending a PNCC Church will quickly notice the time and effort pastors put into the preparation of the gospel and their preaching on the Word of God. Preaching is not to be concerned with the business of the church, fundraising, or other non-spiritual matters. The PNCC is a teaching Church. It boldly proclaims the Word of God and holds the Gospel to be a sacrament. The Gospel is the origin of all the other sacraments.
The Eucharist

“He took bread, blessed it and broke it, and gave it to the disciples and said, ‘Take, eat, this is My Body’, then He took the cup and gave thanks, and gave it to His disciples saying, ‘Drink from it, all of you, for this is My Blood of the New Covenant, which is shed for many for the remission of sins’” Matthew 26:26-28
“He who eats My Flesh, and drinks My Blood abides in Me, and I in him.” John 6:56
“Whoever eats My Flesh and drinks My Blood has eternal life and I will raise him up at the last day. He who eats this Bread will live forever.” John 6:54,58
“For My Flesh is food indeed and My Blood is drink indeed …. As the living Father sent Me, and I live because of the Father, so he who feeds on Me will live because of Me.” John 6:55,57

As members of the PNCC, we believe that Christ’s body, blood, soul and divinity is completely present under the appearance of the sacred host and wine. We show proper reverence, awe, and belief in Christ’s real presence among us.
The Eucharist is received on the tongue because traditionally, the Church has believed that direct contact with the Holy Eucharist is the privilege of the clergy. The Bishop, Priest, or Deacon distributes the Eucharist usually under both forms via intiction. The Body of Christ in the form of a host is dipped into the Blood of Christ in the form of wine and is placed on the recipients tongue.
The Church practices regular Eucharistic devotion so that the faithful may concentrate on and contemplate upon our savior Jesus Christ.
The Sacraments of Initiation
Baptism and Confirmation are included as one sacrament since Confirmation is the completion of baptism. These are the sacraments that initiate us into the life of the church. Baptism makes us a part of Christ’s Church. Confirmation strengthens our faith and gives us the courage necessary to defend Christ in the face of the world.
Anyone seeking to enter into the Body of Christ – The Church may be baptized. Just ask and we will help you.
The Church recognizes the sacrament of baptism as practiced in all Christian churches that use the proper form. The proper form includes the words (Trinitarian formula): “I baptize you in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.” and the words are accompanied by the pouring of water upon the person being baptized or their immersion in water.
The Sacraments of Healing
Confession is practiced regularly in PNCC Churches in two forms. Confession is our opportunity to reflect upon our failings and to reconcile ourselves with God and our community. The forms of confession used are:
Private confession is a requirement for children and young people up to the age of 21. It is also available to adults upon request.
General confession and absolution for adults takes place within the introduction and rite of penance in each Holy Mass. Special Penance services are held twice a year.
Holy Unction (Anointing for Health) is available to all who request it. You need not be at the point of death to receive this sacrament. Anyone who is ill and seeks God’s grace for healing, strength, and perseverance is welcome to receive the sacrament. Regular healing masses are held in PNC Churches.
The Sacraments of Vocation
We refer to Holy Orders and Matrimony as the sacraments of vocation. We are called by God into certain relationships, communities, and tasks. Most importantly of all, we are called into an intimate communion with God for which we have a natural longing in our souls.
Matrimony – God who created man and woman at the beginning in His own image and likeness. God created us out of love and calls us to love each other. Since God created man and woman, their mutual love becomes an image of the absolute and unfailing love with which God loves man. The church celebrates our mutual love in the sacrament of matrimony.
Holy Orders – is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church. The sacrament includes three degrees, the episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate.
The ministerial priesthood is the means by which Christ builds up and leads his Church. The sacrament is open to men only and may be administered to married men.

Translate »